10-11 June 2017

Having spent most of this week under extreme distress because of the weather and distinct lack of isobars, yesterday I ended up in extreme meltdowns and severe hemiplegic paralysis. This is, of course, thanks to the terrible weather inducing a horrible migraine… and that migraine travelling down into my extremities instead of up into my head.

Don’t get me wrong – no one in their right (or even wrong) minds want or prefer that horrific and excruciating migraine headache. Ever. However, that does not mean I have to be pleased with the Hemiplegic Migraine that then takes its place.

The problem also is that – despite knowing I have been experiencing hemiplegia instead of “normal” migraines since I was at least 17 – I still readily forget they still have to be treated the same. Not with medication: I mean in how they’re dealt with.

Today, because of this, I ended up blacking out all day. The closest I can describe it is like being seriously generous with Xanax, or Valium, and you are entirely unable to keep your eyes open. You might come round for a few seconds, but then off you go again. Rather like with General Anaesthetic, after the surgery. It took my mother to point out this was exactly my behaviour with “normal” migraines – and given the long-term stress, the extremely low isobars, the fact I’m under wheelchair-inflicted house arrest, it was obvious this was what was happening again. The severe hemiplegia I suffered yesterday was a testament more than anything to that.

It had now made me realise just how seriously I have to treat this – just like I used to treat my migraines when I was young.

I have suffered from them since I was 8 years old. They became more severe from when I was 10. They really hit their stride between about 12 and 15 – and the fact that was the most stressful time of my life (until now) shows testament as to how much stress is a great trigger for them. The Triptans didn’t turn up (well, in north Wales at least) until I was 17, and they were a godsend… but only for “normal” migraines. In Hemiplegic Migraine they can make them worse, or put you at risk of a stroke. So they’re not really that much help.

What has always been some help is mentality…. Kindness and understanding, allowing yourself the time to go through it and recover without expecting anything more than you can give. The next time this happens, I won’t be so scared. I’m a veteran – even Master – migraine-enduring warrior, so I don’t even have to learn anything new. Just go back to what I know.

It saves an awful lot of time and brain-space, I can tell you.

About delphinemusic

Over-enthusiastic gamer, geek, techaholic, dabbling writer & copy editor, and raging Coffeeholic ~ Loves Gadgets, Games, Tech... And Coffee. Lots and lots of coffee. ~ Obsessively-loving: Dragon Age, Mass Effect, Skyrim, Elder Scrolls Online, Fable, Divinity: Original Sin ~ ~ Successful gaming rig builder: i7-4970K, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB + 3TB HDD Storage, GTX 1060 6GB OC, 1150 ASUS Z97-A ATX mobo, Windows 10 ~ Trying to learn about Linux... Emphasis on "trying"... Including Fedora, Ubuntu, Mint and Raspbian ~ ... Oh, and did I mention I love coffee...? View all posts by delphinemusic

Leave a Reply

